logo for Sadre R. Swanson Youth Foundation donate button for Sandre Swanson Youth Foundation


Status of Boys and Men of Color in California

Watch highlights from the Assembly Select Committee Hearings on the Status of Boys and Men of Color in California, from January 2011 through July 2012, chaired by Assemblymember Sandré R. Swanson (D-Alameda).

State legislators, community leaders, youth and experts convened for hearings of the California State Assembly’s Select Committee on the Status of Boys and Men of Color in California. The committee focused on how education, health care, employment and public safety policies are developed, delivered and financed with the goal of improving these policies to better support the health and success of young men of color.

CLBC Presents Youth Leadership Scholarship Awards

Assemblymember Sandré R. Swanson (D-Alameda), Chair of the California Legislative Black Caucus (CLBC) and Chair of the Assembly Labor and Employment Committee, hosted an Award Ceremony and Leadership Seminar to recognize the CLBC Youth Leadership Scholarship recipients. Over 70 talented students received over $150,000 and enjoyed a private seminar with dozens of community leaders, legislators, and lobbyists who discussed job opportunities in their respective areas and linked them up with some of the most influential mentors in Sacramento to help them through their college years and beyond. Assemblymember Swanson also brought these talented youth to the Assembly Floor for official recognition by the entire body of the Assembly.

Assemblymember Swanson Recognizes California State
Championship Basketball Team, McClymonds High School

California Assemblymember Sandré Swanson (D-Oakland), Recognizes the California Interscholastic Federation Division Boys State Championship Basketball Team, the McClymonds High School Warriors of Oakland in a meeting of the California State Assembly. Honorees include Emmanuel Johnson, Damario Sims, Darrell Oliver, Quincy Hill, William Cherry, Allen Carroll, Aaron Jones, Damon Powell, Barry Bell, Frank Otis, Christopher Jackson, Solomon Wiseman, Ashytin Lowe, Principal: Mrs. Yetunda Reeves, Head Coach: Dwight Nathaniel, Assistant Coaches: Brandon Brooks, Bryant Stanley, Eric Holloway, Elijah Thomas, Arthur York, Maurice Horton, Darren Vance, and Jamie Bryant, and Athletic Director: Anthony McNeal.